Exceptional patient experience inspires gifts to urologic PA program

Garry A. Weber

A former Dallas County judge who also served on the Dallas City Council, the Honorable Garry A. Weber has known about UT Southwestern Medical Center’s distinguished reputation for years. When a medical condition brought him to the Department of Urology, the first-rate care he received made a notable impression.

In gratitude, Judge Weber has provided a gift of $100,000 to establish the Garry Weber Physician Assistant Postgraduate Fund in Urology, which supports the Physician Assistant Postgraduate Residency Program in the Department of Urology at UT Southwestern. Faculty and staff involved with Judge Weber’s care included Department of Urology Chairman Dr. Claus Roehrborn, urologist Dr. Allen Morey, and physician assistant Brad Hornberger.

“This gift stems from my great appreciation of the care I received from these physicians and Brad,” said Judge Weber, who is now CEO and Chairman of the Board of Weber Financial Inc., a full-service investment firm. “It is my hope that graduates of the Program will continue the Medical Center’s longstanding tradition of excellent care throughout Dallas and the surrounding areas.”

Launched in 2013, the Physician Assistant Postgraduate Urology Residency Program prepares physician assistants interested in urology for a meaningful career. It emphasizes all clinical, research, and teaching aspects of urology so that upon completion, each graduate is ready and equipped to serve as a urology physician assistant, an integral part of patient care.

“We are most grateful for the confidence Judge Weber has shown with this gift, which aligns with UT Southwestern’s goal of preparing future generations of leaders in urology – whether in academic centers or community hospitals – for the changing landscape of health care delivery,” said Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky, President of UT Southwestern. “His support of this Program will undoubtedly make a difference in the lives of patients today and for decades to follow.”

For Program participants, the one-year residency includes a mentorship with urology faculty, a weekly pre-operative conference, monthly journal club, weekly grand rounds, and attendance at national and specialty meetings. Trainees also gain access to emergency room and inpatient activities at both UT Southwestern University Hospitals, as well as first-assist training in a wide variety of robotic urologic surgical procedures.

“With this gift, Judge Weber recognizes the increasing importance advanced practice providers play in American health care,” said Dr. Roehrborn. “We are proud to have this strong Program at UT Southwestern and greatly appreciate his support.”   

Beyond this contribution, Judge Weber’s previous support of UT Southwestern has also included a $500,000 bequest in support of the Medical Center’s Innovations of Medicine fundraising campaign. He has served on Southern Methodist University’s Board of Trustees, its Cox School of Business executive board, and Investment Committee. In 1998, he received the SMU Distinguished Alumni Award.

An avid outdoor and wildlife enthusiast, Judge Weber is a member of both the International Council of Advisors for the National Geographic Society and the Whale Trust Advisory Board.

Dr. Morey holds the Distinguished Chair in Urology for Urologic Reconstruction, in Honor of Allen F. Morey, M.D., and the Paul C. Peters, M.D. Chair in Urology.

Dr. Podolsky holds the Philip O’Bryan Montgomery, Jr., M.D. Distinguished Presidential Chair in Academic Administration, and the Doris and Bryan Wildenthal Distinguished Chair in Medical Science.

Dr. Roehrborn holds the E.E. Fogelson and Greer Garson Fogelson Distinguished Chair in Urology, and the S.T. Harris Family Chair in Medical Science, in Honor of John D. McConnell, M.D.