News & Notes

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Kimberly Roaten, Ph.D. (Biomedical Sciences ‘08, Fellowship ‘09)
a Professor in UT Southwestern’s Department of Psychiatry, received the Pam Blumenthal Community Service Award from the Dallas Psychological Association.

Medical School

Cary Chisholm, M.D. (Medicine ’08)
who practices as a dermatopathologist in Waco, Texas, received the Gary & Pat Estep Award from Lubbock Christian University in Lubbock, Texas, where he earned his undergraduate degree. The award is presented to an alumnus in recognition of outstanding contributions to the sciences.

Proshad Efune, M.D. (Medicine ’09, Residency ’15, Fellow ’17-’18)
an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Management and Pediatrics at UT Southwestern, received an Early-Stage Research Grant from The Cary Council, a giving organization that supports research at UT Southwestern.

Richard W. “Rick” Snyder II, M.D. (Medicine ’87, Residency ’88, ’90, Fellowship ’93)
a Dallas cardiologist, began his term as President of Texas Medical Association.

Monique Spillman, M.D., Ph.D. (Medicine ‘99, Biomedical Sciences ‘99)
a gynecologic oncologist in Little Rock, Arkansas, was named Chief of the Division of Gynecologic Oncology at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

Lisa Thiele, M.D., M.P.H. (Medicine ‘23)
a recent Medical School graduate, was part of a team of UT Southwestern researchers who received the Society of Maternal-Fetal Medicine’s Disparities Award for Best Research on Diversity/Disparity. Their study demonstrated how giving free prenatal iron supplements to pregnant patients decreases anemia and the need for transfusions during childbirth.

Alice B. Viroslav, M.D. (Medicine ‘89)
who practices as a neuroradiologist with Radsource in San Antonio, Texas, received the Hope Award from the San Antonio Chamber of Commerce. The award recognizes a woman who has made an impact on the San Antonio community through outstanding philanthropic, community, or public service.


Sarah Baker, M.D. (Resident ‘18)
a Psychiatrist in UT Southwestern’s Peter O’Donnell Jr. Brain Institute, was elected President of the North Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians.

Lina Chalak, M.D. (Fellow ‘01)
UT Southwestern’s interim Chief of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine and Professor of Pediatrics and Psychology, was selected as a fellow in the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program at Drexel University, a competitive health care leadership development program that emphasizes challenges facing women leaders.

Brian Eastridge, M.D. (Fellow '97)
a Professor of Surgery and Chief of the Division of Trauma and Emergency General Surgery at UT Health San Antonio, was named Medical Director for the Military Health Systems Strategic Partnership with the American College of Surgeons.

Contrina Huffman, M.D., M.P.H. (Resident ‘18)
a family medicine physician in Memphis, Tennessee, joined Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare as part of its Methodist Medical Group focused on primary care.

Jayanthi Lea, M.D. (Fellow ’04)
was appointed Chief of the Division of Gynecologic Oncology at UT Southwestern.

Friends we'll miss

Leonard R. Akland, M.D. (Medicine '49)

Joseph M. "Mike" Benson, M.D. (Medicine '76)

Burrel H. Deaton, M.D. (Housestaff)

Fredrick Dunn, M.D. (Medicine '63)

Alvin W. Ellington Jr., M.D. (Medicine '58)

William O. Hargrove Jr., M.D. (Housestaff)

Ralph E. Holmes, M.D. (Housestaff)

James M. "Jim" Humphreys Jr., M.D. (Medicine '69)

Ken E. Kuykendall, M.D. (Medicine '63)

James A. Prentice, M.D. (Medicine '62)

Christopher G. Stephens, M.D. (Medicine '76)

Jessie O. "J.O." Williams Jr., M.D. (Medicine '55)